Product Preach – YSL Black Opium Perfume.

Beauty

I don’t know about you, but I love to smell of smelly things (the good kind, obviously.). I can see myself 10 years in the future with a grand 30+ collection of smellies, and I will have no regrets about the fact. I have already accumulated a small collection of perfumes, ranging in price from £3.50 (for 50ml) to this one I am preaching about today at £58 – Yves Saint Laurent’s Black Opium.

This perfume has always been the dream for me; ever since it first came out and I would endlessly lear at the idilic advert on the TV with the gorgeous aesthetic and a bottle/packaging that dreams are made of. It’s been my end goal in perfume form for years; and then my best chum got it for my birthday (thank you Gurveen!) and made all of my dreams come true. It now sits proudly at the front of my perfume tray and I can go minutes on end just admiring it; I think I have fallen in love with a perfume bottle and whether that is unhealthy or not, I don’t actually care!

fullsizeoutput_11

I struggle severely when attempting to describe scents when writing these posts, so I’m handing it over to the creators themselves; surely they will have more insight and ability than my highly unqualified nose. On the YSL website, they describe the scent as “A glam rock fragrance full of mystery and energy, Black Opium is an irresistible gourmand floral with notes of: Black coffee, for a shot of adrenaline; white florals, to instantly seduce; and vanilla, for sweetness and sensuality. These sensual ingredients are bound by a warm undertone of white musk.”

If like me, you don’t tend to enjoy extremely floral scents, then do not fear because of that description. It’s such an interesting smell that I honestly can’t even smell ‘floweriness'(<the technical term, of course), it’s hidden under musky sweetness and “juicy citrus notes”, also referred to on the YSL website. I am a lady with a more fruity rather than floral preference, so this definitely explains why I enjoy this smell so much.

fullsizeoutput_13

With Christmas gaining on our heels, I cannot recommend this enough for your friends, family or significant other. It’s a smell that anyone would love and bottle that is a sure show stopper; it’s basically a present which cannot fail, so what are you waiting for?!

I would very much recommend purchasing it at John Lewis on Black Friday, the deals you can get on fragrances full stop is literally insanity.

Hope you’re all having a good week! I have finally purchased my new laptop, and have settled on a new blogging schedule. I will be sticking to Tuesday and Friday where I can and will be mainly posting Product Preach’s and OOTD’s, with personal, chatty additions where and when! You will also see the return of Youtube videos in these next few days so be sure to go over and subscribe so you can be the first to watch!

Just Jolie x

3 thoughts on “Product Preach – YSL Black Opium Perfume.

Leave a comment