My Mind Is Like A Football Match.

Lifestyle

My mind is like a football match.

We have the home crowd; the supporters, the good intentions, hopeful thoughts, body positivity and ambition.

But the away stand are also there, the voices in my head that want to see me fail. They cheer when something goes wrong in my life; relish in any speckle of self doubt, anxiety, social stumbles (of which there are many) or heartbreak.

They chant that I am unworthy, unhappy, unsatisfied, unloveable. They may be a smaller crowd but they can shout just as loud.

I try to protect myself with body guards, blocking them in their small little stand in my brain, but that doesn’t stop me hearing their cries.

They each watch the players, my actions, with such different perspectives and outlooks. The home crowd cheer me on to succeed, sensing my true ambition and deep wish to succeed; while the away crowd can smell my fear. My fear and my crippling anxieties with the simplest of things, they tell me I’m not good enough and should quit now and let someone else take the ball to relieve that ball, not on the ground but in the pit of my stomach.

What I am on the road to learning is that the best players are the players that, despite those feelings, don’t give up but instead go for the goal. You might miss a few times, but you’ve got to try and shoot, to score. 🙂

Slightly more serious of ramblings today, but I hope my slightly shite attempt at metaphor makes sense, much love!

Just Jolie x

4 thoughts on “My Mind Is Like A Football Match.

Leave a comment